Simply Apple Crumble

This is the first time I am going to attempt baking. Adapted this brilliant recipe from The Daily Spud. I was inspired and somehow got a motivation to try my hands on fruit stuff today.

Second motivation came from my friend Mandy who only started cooking recently too. I was shown to her effortless fruit crumble which was so yummy. She claimed that was the only dish she could make from scratch. So yes, I couldn’t wait to start on it right away. I used Granny Smith apples that mum has in the house.

Ingredients (in simpler form)

Crumble

  • 1 1/2 tbsp Demerara sugar
  • ~50 g butter
  • ~100 g of plain flour

I put everything onto a deep plate, used finger tips to mix butter into the flour to arrive at grainy texture and set aside.

-Apple Treatment-

  • 4 green apples, cored and cut up in chunks
  • 2 tbsp of sugar
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 50 ml of water
  • 1/2 tbsp ground cinnamon

Preparation

  1. As told in the blog, I dumped everything into a pot, bring the contents to boil.
  2. When it’s boiled, put the lid on and turn the heat low.
  3. Simmer the contents for another 10 mins.
  4. The apples would become kinda spongy and translucent.
  5. Off the heat and pour it into a round dish.
  6. Sprinkle the crumbs prepared previously evenly to top off the stewed apples.
  7. Bake it for 20 mins at 180°C until the crumbs are golden brown.
  8. I rest the dish for a while and ate it luke warm.
  9. Pretty nice and easy!
3 thoughts on “Simply Apple Crumble

  1. Ah, but yours was homemade – that’s got to be better than buying it in the coffee shop! And I wouldn’t have minded mushy apples – it somehow makes it more comforting to me :)

Leave a Reply

