Eat Melbourne

Queen Victoria Market

I like to have colourful pictures and as little words as possible, let’s just start with Queen Victoria Market, one of the must-stop-by places to buy not only the wide range of local produce (macadamia nuts, avocados, etc), you could also find leather products, clothings, knit-knats as quirky or rather unique souvenir.

I got one ripe avocado for AUD 1.80, it’s huge, good for 3 – 4 servings! It is so smooth!
A so-called French bakery shop offering stuffed croissant along one of the shops at Queen Victoria Market. Here, I had cheese & asparagus stuffed croissant with cappuccino for AUD 7.30.
I stopped by GPO (former general post office now turned shopping mall offering local designer works), right in the middle of entrance, a coffee/bakery parlour offering macarons! I actually did not try any this trip to Melbourne, strange, only took pictures.
There is a fries chain as above offering heap of fresh fires with skin on and different toppings. They are juicy and so good to chomp on in the midst of cold spring.
Hunger pants during one cold and rainy evening, I got a pizza delivery number from the hotel reception. And here it is, for AUD 15 and 9″ personal pizza, not bad at all!
Along Little Bourke Street (Chinatown), I took refuge in one of the shopping malls. And in there, I found myself sitting in a Malaysian restaurant. So, I thought I should order this Har Mee (Prawn Noodle Soup) to combat the chill and rain. AUD 11. The sweet prawn broth was flavourful, not bad at all.
I took a half day tour out to have a ride in Puffing Billy (steam engine), the tour arranged us to stop by a shop offering homemade scones and Devonshire tea, and they were pretty good.
Midnight snack of carbonara. Phew, only 200 kcal, because I chose the healthy version by McCain.
Lygon Street – the Italian street of Melbourne where this stretch offers Italian cuisines and gelato! Here I had Ferrero Rocher on top and Pistachio at the bottom. Ferrero one rocks, I am still thinking about it right now.


Funk Fish is the name of this shop situated right inside Queen Victoria Market’s food court. The light batter and fresh fish had me. Another cappuccino to wash down the meal, nice!


Passed by this shop called The Cupcake Family, I think it’s in QV shopping centre. These little things on display would make a girl so happy!
A chocolate speciality shop situated in one of the famous arcades, Haigh’s
Family business we were told, the pancakes were soft and fluffy – The Pancake Parlour
Another Chinese meal in Chinatown. The place is called something like Shanghai & Szechuan cuisine. The portion for 2 persons was huge and we couldn’t finish. Nice dishes nonetheless.
The last cafe visit before I took off to airport which is near my hotel. It is called something like arts cafe along Exhibition Street. I had spinach & ricotta wrap and latte. Nice and strong coffee. The meal cost AUD 12.

Friend’s Wedding Dinner Banquet

Table setting, before the start of the banquet
There were two choices for each starter and main course, they were served alternately. The seafood tasted good, the beef was overcooked though. Overall, a nice meal!
Table setting during night time, romantic
Apple Crumble with clotted cream

It was busy and fun-filled wedding of an old friend. And I am glad to be part of it by being one of the bridesmaids.

Melbourne is a surprisingly diverse and a fun city I must say.

Love to be back in Australia to revisit here and Sydney and beyond …

Check out CNNgo Melbourne list here.

Leave a Reply

